Powered By
Sponsored By
Apply for Amex

Friday, June 15, 2007

The NHL Awards

Even though I had to stay up until 11 just to watch the Sid er the NHL Awards show. I kind of enjoyed it. I mean sure, the host was...interesting. It was kind of funny when the interviewer guy forgot Paul Stastny's name. And, when Sidney Crosby said congrats to Marty and Vinny even though it was Luongo that got nominated. Dumby. Alright, I will run through the winners and who was nominated and what I thought now.

Hart Memorial Trophy (MVP)
*Winner~Sidney Crosby
*Nominated~Roberto Luongo and Martin Brodeur
*Who should have won? Luongo, no guy took his team that far. Luongo didn't really have the team to work with.

Vezina Trophy (Goalie)
*Winner~Martin Brodeur
*Nominated~Roberto Luongo, Miikka Kiprusoff, and Henrik Lundqvist
*Who should have won? I personally think the right guy won. He broke records this year...you can't dispute that.

Norris Memorial Trophy (defenseman)
*Winner~Nicklas Lidstrom
*Nominated~Scott Niedermayer and Chris Pronger
*Who should have won? Right guy won...you can't deny a +40.

Calder Trophy (rookie)
*Winner~Evgeni Malkin *A No Show
*Nominated~Jordan Staal and Paul Stastny
*Who should have won? Anze Kopitar

Selke Trophy (defensive forward)
*Winner~Rod Brind'Amour
*Nominated~Samuel Pahlsson and Jay Pandolfo
*Who should have won? Pahlsson or Pandolfo...although Brind'Amour's speech made me laugh.

Lady Byng (gentleman)
*Winner~Pavel Datsyuk *A No Show
*Nominated~Martin St. Louis and Joe Sakic
*Who should have won? Joe Sakic...no doubt...at least he showed up

Jack Adams (coach)
*Winner~Alain Vigneault
*Nominated~Lindy Ruff and Michel Therrien
*Who should have won? Vigneault, what a guy!

King Clancy (humanitarian)
*Winner~Saku Koivu
*You can't go wrong when you give Koivu anything.

Masterson (perserverance)
*Winner~Phil Kessel
*The kid overcame testicular cancer and came back...and was absolutely adorable with his little speech in his hand.

Art Ross (points scoring leader)
*Winner~Sidney Crosby

Maurice Richard Trophy (goal scoring leader)
*Winner~Vincent Lecavalier

William M Jennings (fewest goals against)
*Winners~Manny Fernandez and Nicklas Backstrom

Pearson Award
*Winner~Sidney Crosby...no I'm not kidding...the players voted it...I think it was rigged.

For a full break down on the voting and what not check out Mirtle


KMS2 said...

Who should have won? Anze Kopitar

That made me smile! I can't believe he wasn't even nominated. Absolute horseshit.

Bethany said...

Yeah, I couldn't believe it poor guy. Oh well he's rookie of the year over here.